RSS Feed

Spring Forward Everyone!!! (literally!)

Posted on

Did you all spring your clocks forward an hour??

It’s that time of year where the days are finally longer!!! This makes me super happy.  I love/need lots of sun to make me happy and productive.  I also need warmth…. hence why California is calling my name 🙂

This past week ended in a bit of an upset.  I lost my job on Friday, rather unexpectedly, so I now find myself scrambling to find a new job.  But me being the organized person that I am, I have put together a list of places to apply this week, so that makes me feel a bit put together.   As one of my co-workers said to me on Friday after work, “when one door closes, another opens…. you’re going to be just fine Erin, I just know it.”

 

So moving on to what makes me happy, and that would be cooking and sharing with you all lovely readers what I whip up, I shall share with you what I made this weekend.  I made two things this weekend, though the second amazing thing I did not take pictures of 😦  I was too mesmerized by its unbelievable deliciousness, even my roommate was in awe of how amazing it was!! Perhaps I’ll have to remake it just to be able to photograph it! Lol

Moving onward….

Celery Root Black Bean Apple Slaw

1 small/medium sized Celery Root (peeled)

2 small granny smith apples

1 Tbsp organic stone ground mustard

1/4 cup Nayonaise – Flax Oil Mayonaise (vegan)

1/4 tsp ground ginger

Juice from 1/4th of a lemon

1 can organic no salt added black beans – rinsed

Himalayan Sea Salt to taste

Black Pepper to taste

 

* Cut in quarters the apples and celery root

* Attach shredder attachment to food processor and shred both celery root and apples

* Transfer to bowl and add remaining ingredients, fold into shredded mix with rubber spatula

Enjoy with a nice cup of green tea!  (and make sure your cat does not eat it before you do!)

 

My cat has a strange obsession with Celery!!! (she must take after me because she can't stand tuna! LOL)

 

 

 

I am on a mission to find the most excellent recipe for Irish Soda Bread in honor of St. Paddy’s day coming up.  Anyone know of any??

About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

Leave a Reply

