RSS Feed

Fat Tuesday!

Posted on

Have you gotten any Mardi Gras beads today?? I haven’t but oh well Lol

So to celebrate Fat Tuesday I decided to have pancakes since I grew up always going to Fat Tuesday pancake suppers at my parent’s respective churches when I was a youngster.  However, instead of your regular pancakes I made sweet potato pancakes with a spinach pesto!!

Can we say DELISH!? I think I should get some beads for this concoction 🙂

Sweet Potato Latkas

Lightly adapted from Spark People

2 lbs sweet potatoes, peeled and shredded

1/2 cup green or white onions, finely minced

1 Tbsp dry parsley

1 tsp dry stage

2 Tbsp flax meal

2 Tbsp boiling water

1/2 lemon

1/4 cup brown rice flour

Celtic sea salt (course) to taste

Black Pepper to taste

* Pour boiling water over flaxmeal in a bowl and let turn to gelatinous mass.

* Mix sweet potatoes and onions with lemon juice

* Add Seasonings, flour and flax – mix together

* Heat oil (coconut oil) – drop spoonfuls on hot pan, use fork to spread out into a thin pancake

* Cook until corners are browned and crisp, flip – cook till golden

Spinach Pesto

2-3 cups baby spinach

1-2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 large garlic clove

Lemon Juice – to taste

2 tsp sesame seeds

1/4 cup raw cashews

1 Tbsp nutritional yeast

Salt to taste

* Put all ingredients into a food processor, and process until fully blended.  May add some spinach if taste is too strong.  This recipe is really to each persons own taste, so you can add a bit more of any ingredient until you find the right combination 🙂

BEADS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

3 responses »

  1. We’ve eaten lots of Shrove Tuesday pancakes over the years, haven’t we? I feel bogged down just remembering them. Your version looks scrumptious, and a big improvement over the traditional version.

    Reply
  2. Yes we have!! This version is way healthier and many more health benefits!! 🙂 You could even add some fresh basil in the pesto (or the pancakes) I didn’t have any on hand but you could always run out to your garden and get some, LUCKY!!!

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh that looks awesome and I eat everything in that recipe. My husband and I have cut out sugar and gluten, so most recipes have stuff we can’t eat in them. Those look amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

