RSS Feed

Juice Cleanse – Lessons Learned

Posted on

Well… my juice cleanse was rather short lived unfortunately.  Not because I couldn’t do it, but more because I had not planned it very well.  I had not realized just how many vegetables I would be needing to make the amount of juice I was planning on consuming.  Therefore I ran out of veggies!!!!   Pay day was on Friday, however it is also the beginning of the month therefore Rent was due which means funds are a bit lower this pay period.

But from the two days I did do the cleanse I learned this:

Make LOTS of juice in the morning and bring the rest with you to drink throughout the day

–  Green apples keep you filled for a while

– Kombucha and coconut water are excellent additions to stave off hunger and help with the cleanse

– Use vegetables that have lots of water (cucumber, celery….)

Juicing really made me feel clean, and on top of things so next time I now know that I need to buy A LOT of veggies and fruits, and have them washed, ready and prepared so that I can juice, clean and go!!

Tonight I made an oil free lentil soup which was DELISH!! and I of course made a huge pot of it so I’m good to go for the week.  I have delegated Sunday’s to being my day to clean, do laundry, get ready for the week and cook for the week.  This has a significant impact on my week and just makes things so much easier for when I get home in the evenings.

So with all of that said…. juicing can be done, but it definitely cannot be done “on the fly”.  Lots of planning needs to go into it before you set out on a juice cleanse journey.

I do love juicing, and I think I shall continue with my daily juices in the morning.  It’s just such a nice way to ease into your day, instead of putting lots of heavy foods into your system before your body has fully woken up.  At least that’s the way I see it.   My journey with food and understanding it and the effects various foods have on our system is slowly evolving, and I sure am loving every minute of it!

About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

Leave a Reply

