RSS Feed

Rainy Day Blues – And Sweet Potato Fries

Rain rain go away come again another day!!

It has been so dreary the past few days and I am so not a fan!  I truly cannot wait to move over to the west coast with all the bright warm sun!!!!!

Anyway, so to brighten things up a bit I will continue with sharing the recipes from my fabulous dinner menu last night.

Garlic Basil Sweet Potato Fries (serves 1-2 people)

– 1 Garnet Yam (about the size of a light bulb)

– 1 large garlic clove

– 1 heaping Tbsp coconut oil

– 1/2 Tbsp Basil

– 1/2 Tbsp Oregano

– 1/4 tsp Paprika

– 1 Tbsp Juice from Lemon

– 1/4 cup raw unsalted sunflower seeds, roughly chopped

– Celtic Course Sea Salt to taste

– Ground Black Pepper to Taste

* Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

* Peel and wash Yam

* Cut into 1 inch thick slices, then slice those in half (basically cut to look like fries)

* put into bowl, along with the rest of ingredients and mix with rubber spatula until coconut oil is fully incorporated and coated on yam slices

* Lay out onto parchment paper covered cookie sheet, and place in oven

* Cook for about 35 minutes  – enjoy with some fresh veggies!!

So with that delicious recipe posted, I am now going to let you all know that starting tomorrow I am going to be starting a juice cleanse.  I am going to be doing lots and lots of juicing as well as raw soups until Sunday.

I have been wanting to do this for a while but now I have the motivation to do so.  Two people at work at doing a fast, however I find fasts to be just dumb unless they are for religious purposes.  I feel that you can still cleanse your body while nourishing it properly so that you don’t pass out.

This is going to be incredibly hard for sure! I’ve never done a whole body cleanse before, but the health benefits of it, from what I have read out beat the hard work.  So I am determined to do this!! Plus since I have two co-workers also going in on this, it should be much easier to get through.  I very well may be going through a pack of gum a day! Lol (hey its much better then a pack of lung cancer inducing sticks a day right?)

I will detail my journey starting tomorrow!!

About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

Leave a Reply

