RSS Feed

Freshly Squeezed Nutrients

I shared with you a few weeks ago my newest pride and joy which is that of my Juicer!  Allow me to re-introduce you all to “Juicietta”

She is amazing, so easy to clean and provides me with tons of nutrient packed green juices and cold-busting vitamin C juices!  (I added her to my store so you can get one of your very own!! so go check it out!  Only $45!!!)

So…. you keep hearing about green juice these days and how amazing it is.   Well let me just say that they indeed are!!! Juicing in general has so many fantastic and amazing benefits for you.  I’ve been reading a lot about juicing lately and the top 5 things I have been taking away from it is this:

1)  It reverses the aging process

2) It reduces inflammation

3) Cleanses the body

4) Regulates the bowels

5) Can help to peel off the pounds

A few things I learned about juicing that are rather important is that enzymes when juiced don’t last too long, therefore you need to drink your juice soon after it is juiced.  It certainly can be saved for a later use, but for optimal nutrient absorption you need to fairly soon after being juiced.   Also, it is best to drink your juice on an empty stomach.  Mixing liquids and solids slows down the digestive process.  So drink your juice, then eat solids about 30 minutes later.

Another good rule of thumb when juicing is 3:1 ratio, 3 veggies to one piece of fruit.

So my fresh sprouts, are you ready for some inspiration?? Lol

Green Elixir

3-4 Kale Leaves

Fresh Mint (about a handful)

1 Cucumber (peeled)

1 Pear (or green apple)

1 inch Ginger

1-2 Carrots

*Shove into Juicer, then pour into wine glass and enjoy as if it were a glass of wine but know that you are nourishing your body!!

 

I also have another bonus recipe for ya!!

Cold Busting Zinger!

2 Carrots (peeled)

1 Grapefruit (peeled and sectioned into 3 parts)

1 inch Ginger

This will knock your socks off!!  It’s got lots a zing and vitamin C! And it’ll help to reduce any inflammation you got going on in your sinuses 🙂

 

I am so in love with my Juicer, I seriously and highly recommend getting yourself one.  They are amaaazing lil machines (well not so little actually Lol).

Can’t wait to have my green juice in the morning! I think I may choose tomorrow to be my juice fast day.   I read that it is good to give yourself one day a week to do a mild detox day and just drink green juices all day long, and end with perhaps a raw soup.  This helps to clean out your body from the week before.

*** For any more information on today’s post you can pick up a copy of Kris Carr’s book “Crazy Sexy Diet” which I also have in my store.  Yes I am promoting my store a bit today, but it’s more a convenience factor for all of your readers to have all the items I recommend or talk about posted in one place right?!   🙂

About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

One response »

  1. Gorgeous pictures! Now I seriously want a juicer! You have inspired me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

