RSS Feed

Snow/Ice Storm Recovery Day!

Well in case you all had not heard on the news, DC got hit with a messy snow/ice storm on wednesday and it hit right at rush hour, which made traffic absolute pure chaos!!!! Let’s just say that I left work at 4:40pm  and I finally got home at 12:30am!!!!!!!!!!!! PURE INSANITY!!!

Then, because of how heavy the snow/ice was, trees were falling down, as well as power lines, leaving thousands of people without any power.  At work yesterday we lost power in the afternoon, so I got to go home early! which was nice but at the same time, I lost hours and I am payed hourly.  This morning the power still had not come back on, so I had an un-scheduled day off, which, again was nice, but lost a whole day’s pay! Booooo

So with my time off today, I cleaned, worked out and cooked! well actually it was more like “un-cook” since I made raw food 🙂  And it turned out sooo very yummy!! And you’ll be happy to know, I actually documented the process with pictures!  This is something I am trying to get better at doing.  So I was quite proud of myself for doing so.

The first meal was lunch.  It was after my work out so I wanted something nutrient packed and refreshing.

It’s an Orange, Beet Salad with a Ginger Vinaigrette and it is deeeelish!!!

To highlight all the amazing nutrients packed into this salad I’ll list them individually.

Beets: Provide antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and detoxification support.

Orange: Packed with Vitamin C – which helps your immune system, which in turn prevents free radical damage which triggers inflammation.

Sprouts: Contain oxygen (which is essential for healthy cells, as oxygen rich foods can help to ward off viruses & even kill off bacteria!).  They have an alkalizing effect on the body, and they also contain healthy fats (EFA’s = Essential Fatty Acids).  They are full of fiber, protein and gives you a boost of Vitamin C and B.

Apple Cider Vinegar: Helps to alkalize your body’s pH levels.  Has cancer fighting antioxidants, Pectin ( a water soluble fiber which aids in digestion, improves glucose metabolism and lowers blood pressure), potassium, and magnesium.

**** Also an added plus to apple cider vinegar is it aids in Weight Loss!  There are many theories as to why it works, here is what is said about it:

It is generally believed that the nutrients, enzymes, and organic acids in apple cider vinegar cause weight reduction by acting as an appetite suppressant, by increasing your body’s metabolic rate, by reducing water retention, and by helping you maintain a feeling of well being.

For more info on this click here

Ginger: Fantastic on so many levels – It aids in digestion by relaxing the intestinal tract (which also helps to eliminate gas!).  It reduces nausea (hence why when your feeling under the weather you drink ginger ale).  Acts as an anti-inflammatory (great for arthritis).   Protects against various cancers (Ovarian and Colorectal).  And is a great Immunity booster.

Wow!! with all those benefits I’ll be your wanting to just dive right into this salad aren’t ya!?  Well wait no further, for here is the recipe 🙂

Orange, Beet Salad with a Ginger Vinaigrette

**Note:  I hardly ever measure things when whipping them up, so you may need to adjust a few things to taste**

– Half of a small beet (peeled and chopped)

– About 2 handfuls of sprout mix (the kind that has a mixture of sprouts in the package)

– 3/4’s of an orange, sliced

– Red Onion – to taste (I used just a few very thin slices)

Ginger Vinaigrette

– approx. 1 tsp Olive Oil

– approx. 1-2 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinager

– approx. 1-2 tsp grated fresh ginger

– Himalayan Sea Salt to taste

Put all ingredients into a bowl and whisk together.  Or do like I do and put in small tupper-ware container and shake it up.

Enjoy!!  (I’ll post my other creation tomorrow)

About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

Leave a Reply

