RSS Feed

My "Ah-ha" moment with raw whole foods vs. processed foods

So lately I have been trying to become more in tune with my body in terms of nutrition, and feeding my body with whole foods and superfoods which nourish and heal the body in amazing ways! I have become so fascinated and perhaps nerdily (yes I just made up that word, roll with it) excited about the amazing ability’s that food has if used in the correct ways.  The way that we are supposed to be using food.

I will do another post on my favorite superfoods soon, so stay tuned for that!

So it was perhaps about two months ago.  I started having some digestive problems, and overall was just feeling very run down.  Granted there was also a fair amount of stress going on in my life due to the whole job hunting thing, and I was not doing a very good job of eating very well.   So I decided to do a bit of an experiment on myself of eating only whole foods, and primarily raw, to see what effects it would have on my body and mind.

What I discovered was this:

When I ate lots of processed foods, sugar, coffee etc… I was tired all the time, bloated, crashed in the middle of the day and just felt overall gross and depressed.

However when I ate whole clean foods, everything from scratch, nothing processed, I felt alive! I felt healthy, non bloated, eager to work out, happy, and overall extremely productive, which in turn also leads me to being on track health wise.

In writing that it seems like a big obvious DUH!!!  Especially since I wrote an entry a while ago about doing that exact type of experiment.  But I, like everyone else, sometimes need a good re-jump start or refresher, if you will.  Yes, I too will sometimes lose my way with healthy eating.  But it’s always good to remember that tough times will  not last forever, and healthy eating is a great way to pull yourself out of a funk.

Back to what I was saying, when you eat whole foods it forces you to eat at a slower pace.  Whereas processed foods are just that… so overly processed that there are no fibers in there to hold it together.  In other words, those types of foods break down quite quickly in your mouth therefore you end up eating faster and larger quantities.

So, all of this is to say that I am slowly but surely making the solid (no pun intended) transition to whole foods, and further away from overly processed vegan “faux meats” no matter how delicious and convenient they may be!  It not only makes me feel amazing, but it also makes me happy because I get to cook a lot more! which I love to do, and making all kinds of different and exciting meals and recipes!

Coming up soon:

My latest food obsession – POMEGRANATE!!

And a few recipes I’ve whipped up… though I have to admit, I’m so bad at taking pictures of my food while cooking.  I just get so wrapped up in the cooking I only realize after wards that I’ve totally forgotten to document the process and the final out come! ooppssss :-/  I think part of that issue though is that I don’t have a great camera with which to make nice looking photos, or nice cookware… I’m ohhh what some might call a bit of a perfectionist and only like the best!!  Lol

About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

2 responses »

  1. Good blog with some exciting information. I am going to be back.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Processed Food Jokes « Recipes for Health

Leave a Reply

