RSS Feed

Chocolate Tortilla Chips and Magical Healing Soup

Vegan crazy lady say what?! Yes you read it correctly.  The other day I was in Whole Foods (which I can easily spend hours in at a time) and I was looking for these new chips in the lime flavor, which they had been out of every time I went in there.  Anyway this time they had them! yay!! As I was looking up there I saw in the same brand a bag that said “Chocolate”…


I had to do a double take, thinking “huh?? chocolate tortilla chips??” I of course had to get them because I was so intrigued.  Well, to my delight they are actually quite good!! Not too sweet, and a little salty.  Yumm! Although I have still yet to figure out what could go well with them as a dip…. hmmm

Anyway, so I wasn’t feelin to hot this evening.  Felt very just… gross, headache, nauseous, cramping tummy.  No bueno.  So I remembered Alicia Silverstone had a recipe in her book The Kind Diet for a “Magical Healing Soup”.  While I don’t think it’s quite “magical” I decided why not give it a shot.  So I made it tonight and it was exactly what I needed.  It did indeed make me feel so much better! It was very easy to make and took very little time considering it’s a soup from scratch.

Alicia’s Magical Healing Soup

From The Kind Diet

Serves 2

1/2 medium carrot, cut into large chunks

1/4 medium daikon, cut into large chunks

1/4 red onion, cut into large chunks

2-3 celery stalks, chopped

3-4 small broccoli florets

4 button mushrooms, sliced

2-3 trumpet mushrooms, sliced

1/2 medium leek, halved then cut into large chunks and swirled in a bowl of water to dislodge any grit

Ginger juice to taste (grate a 1″ piece of ginger and squeeze out the juice with your fingers)

Shoyu to taste

1 whole scallion

1/4 bunch watercress, tough stems discarded

Mochi, chopped or shredded (optional)

Toasted nori pieces (optional)

**I didn’t have any red onion, trumpet mushrooms, watercress, mochi or nori and its tasted just fine.  I did add some Miso to it and gave a very asian flavor, yumm!!**

Directions:

1. Bring 3 cups water to a boil.  Add carrot and daikon, reduce heat to simmer

2. Add red onion and cook 2-3 minutes

3. Add celery, broccoli, mushrooms, and leek

4. Add ginger juice and shoyu to the broth to taste

5. Simmer until vegetables are cooked through but still lightly firm, about 5 minutes

6. Add scallion, and turn off heat.

Pour into bowl and enjoy with some crackers or whole wheat roll

I’m enjoying my evening relaxing and watching the season finale of Project Runway.  I can’t decide who I want to win?!  I wouldn’t mind if either Mondo or Andy win, not the biggest fan of Gretchen.  I also love that Jessica Simpson is a guest judge!!  I used to not really like her, but ever since she began speaking out about the media’s problem on body image and its affect on women, as well as her show The Price of Beauty I have a new appreciation of her and think she has turned into quite a smart woman.

Hope you all are having a relaxing evening as well!

About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

Leave a Reply

