RSS Feed

Fueling your body for running, vegan style!!

  I have recently gotten more serious about running which has been awesome!  Before I really only ran on a treadmill for about 30 minutes, which yes is still running but it doesn’t push you very hard, unless you change the incline which I never really did. 

   So, running… I have a love hate relationship with it.  I love how awesome I feel after my run, and I especially love when I have those awesome runs where you just feel like you could run for hours and hours and feel light as air… however, I am finding that those types of runs don’t happen every day which is annoying.  I keep trying to figure out what makes those types of runs happen, so far I got nothin.

  Today’s run was odd, my legs felt awesome, felt like I could keep running for hours, however my lungs not so much.  I felt like I couldn’t quite get a deep breath.  One of these days I will get it all figured out and find just the right routine, at least thats what I keep telling myself.   Perhaps I should work more on my meditation and breathing….

   Before I went on my run I made myself this awesome concoction:

Pre-Workout Hydration Energy Smoothie

1 cup coconut water

1 tsp maca cocoa powder (or just plain maca)

1 Tbsp chia seeds

1 frozen banana

1 scoop Amazing Grass wheatgrass powder

 2 handfuls spinach (or kale)

   Blend together in blender

 

  (I forgot to include the Amazing Grass Wheatgrass powder in both the photo and my smoothie this morning, oops! think I got a lil excited about taking the photo)

   I love this smoothie because it energizes you for your run as well as hydrates you for your run!   The coconut water in it is amazing for both before and after your run because it is a natural electrolyte.  Ever since I discovered coconut water I can never go back to those sugar filled sports drinks like gatorade or propel.  Also chia seeds are hydrating and packed with protein!  They also thicken smoothies up (and any other type of liquid) if you let it sit in the fridge for about 15 minutes.  The maca also adds a big bang of energy!! Woohoo!!

  Check out what I saw on while out on my run…

       A MINI HORSE!!!  Just walking down the sidewalk with a child on it Lol

About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

2 responses »

  1. just becoming a vegan and this smoothie is great before my workout.cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

