RSS Feed

“Who you gonna call?? COLD-BUSTERS!!”

So I woke up yesterday morning with a very scratchy throat, but I thought maybe it was because I had gone out the night before and was around some people who were smoking (yuckers) and therefore my precious clean lungs were not happy.

Well this morning I woke myself up because I was having a coughing fit!  Then preceded to sound like a drag queen all day.  Which by the way is highly amusing when 95% of my job consists of talking on the phone and taking phone orders! hahah needless to say it left customers very confused as to whether I was a female or a male.

In any case, when I woke up this morning the first thing I thought of was “this calls for some cold-busters action!!”  I remembered reading Angela’s blog about her “flu-busting clementine smoothie” so I pulled it up and tweaked it a bit.  And ohhh how delicious it was!   Behold the power of healing through holistic pure nutrition!

Naval Orange Cold-Buster Smoothie


Inspired by Angela Liddon’s  “Flu-Buster Clementine Smoothie”

- 1 cup unsweetened vanilla Hemp Milk

- 1/2 cup coconut water

- 1/2 inch piece of fresh ginger

- 1/2 of naval orange

- 1/2 of scooped out avocado

- 1 medjool date

- 1 peeled and frozen banana

- Juice of 1/2 a meyer lemon (or regular lemon)

**Changes I would make next time:  It wasn’t as thick as I would have liked, but still was quite good.  I’m a big sucker for really thick and creamy smoothies, so if you are not, then keep it as is.  Otherwise I would make the following changes:

- Change liquid proportions to half hemp milk (or any other non-dairy milk) and half coconut water

- add whole naval orange

- Maybe add a splash or vanilla extract or almond extract or scrape vanilla bean seeds

- Possibly add some chia seeds??


I totally love the idea that you can heal yourself without tons of medication that kills all the healthy bacteria inside you.  Yes sometimes it may be needed for some serious infections or diseases.  But so much research has been done that by eating a clean healthy diet you can heal yourself!  So very cool.

Anyone have any go to recipes for when your sick??  Share them!


About Erin Brown

I am vivacious, full of spirit and drive and like to dip my toes into everything to at the very least be able to say "I've done that". I live my life to the fullest and have a major passion for health, fitness and nutrition as well as helping others to achieve their goals in health. So read on to get your health fix!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

